PDA

View Full Version : Whats doing this?

Mickhippy
07-12-2007, 09:58 AM
As you can see in the pic, theres strange things happening to the lawns here lately. Its mainly Bermuda.
Its the middle of winter here (Australia) and grubs etc are out of season.

I live in an area thats probably similar to North of Florida or so. We have had some cold nights and even some frosts, but Ive never seen frost damage before!

Anyway, any ideas?

AUHort1990
07-12-2007, 10:35 AM
Bermuda going dormant. It always does that tiger stripe thing as it goes dormant.

cgaengineer
07-12-2007, 10:54 AM
Roger is 100% correct...I remember the first time I ever saw bermuda do this...I was like WTF?

gavin478
07-12-2007, 12:58 PM
I say you've got crop circles, beware!!

Yeah, It's just the grass going wierdly dormant

Eric D
07-12-2007, 01:49 PM
I say you've got crop circles, beware!!

:dancing: Like from aliens? :dancing:

Mickhippy
07-12-2007, 07:46 PM
Wow! Ok, Ive been cutting grass for over 10 years around here and I NEVER seen it do that before! Maybe due to going dormant very quickly (like shock treatment). We had some very cold mornings (worst on record or something). From low 20'c to -0'c.

topsites
07-12-2007, 08:09 PM
Same here, I have never seen that, glad the explanation was a normal one.

G.M.Landscaping
07-12-2007, 09:11 PM
Middle of winter...I must be confused . I thought everywhere went thru the same cycle's as us in the U.S. So when is your summertime?

Focal Point Landscapes
07-12-2007, 10:46 PM
I thought you were kidding , but in case you aren't , the northern hemisphere and southern hemisphere are mirror images - when we got summer , they got winter - when we got fall , they got spring .........

Americal Vet
07-13-2007, 12:15 AM
Middle of winter...I must be confused . I thought everywhere went thru the same cycle's as us in the U.S. So when is your summertime?

:hammerhead:

Sandgropher
07-13-2007, 12:27 AM