PDA

View Full Version : What's the going rate for laying mulch?

rainsofthouston
07-18-2007, 12:16 PM
Hey guys, a little help please.

I'm not a complete newbie in the business. I'm a licenced irrigator and have been mowing for 3 seasons now, but I need some feedback. I've got this one commercial account that I mow and maintain some flower beds for. About a month ago, I put down three yards of mulch on the property. It has a few tree islands, and a strip of small bushes laying in a 3' by about 200' bed. I charged the customer $381 for weeding out the beds and putting down the mulch. Is that about par? I've been reading some of these landscaping threads and it seems I may be giving some labor away.:confused:

Zaro T Man
07-18-2007, 01:22 PM
Hey guys, a little help please.

I'm not a complete newbie in the business. I'm a licenced irrigator and have been mowing for 3 seasons now, but I need some feedback. I've got this one commercial account that I mow and maintain some flower beds for. About a month ago, I put down three yards of mulch on the property. It has a few tree islands, and a strip of small bushes laying in a 3' by about 200' bed. I charged the customer $381 for weeding out the beds and putting down the mulch. Is that about par? I've been reading some of these landscaping threads and it seems I may be giving some labor away.:confused:

According to what I see you were a bit short on the mulch. Should have been closer to 5 C. Yards. I get about $45.00 a C. yard for mulch. So not bad as long as you didn't have to weed the bed or remove and replace old mulch.

tthomass
07-18-2007, 06:06 PM
$45-$110 per yard............depends on your market. I'm on the high end, good market.

NCass31
07-18-2007, 06:38 PM