PDA

View Full Version : Zerk Problems

Runzwiscizzers
07-24-2007, 02:21 PM
So I am in my second year with my Scag Tiger Cub. Being a homeowner I only put 50-60 hours a year on the machine. Last year after the first season, I had the dealer do a season end tune up, getting it ready for storage.

So this year, being more comfortable with the machine, I decide I am going to grease the zerk fittings. First fitting I try, the hose connection to the zerk goes on fine, grease slides in. One problem, now I can't get the hose off the zerk. Are these all the same size? Hint: new grease gun, using Mobil 1 grease. Any advise would be appreciated, I mean, this should be so easy!!!!

Thanks

ericg
07-24-2007, 02:57 PM
The fitting that fits on the Zerk is adjustable to accomodate various size fittings. The fitting at the end of the hose is actually two pieces screwed together. Put a pair of pliers on the side closest to the hose and put another pair of pliers on the side closest to the zerk and unscrew the fitting a little and the zerk will be free.

pugs
07-24-2007, 02:58 PM
Pull harder or slowly push it to one side and it should come free. The nozzile will probably be tight at first being new.

Runzwiscizzers
07-24-2007, 03:05 PM
Thanks for the advice guys, I will check it out tonite

ed2hess
07-24-2007, 04:21 PM
The fitting that fits on the Zerk is adjustable to accomodate various size fittings. The fitting at the end of the hose is actually two pieces screwed together. Put a pair of pliers on the side closest to the hose and put another pair of pliers on the side closest to the zerk and unscrew the fitting a little and the zerk will be free.

That is a good piece of advise...didn't know you could loosen them up ...I am afraid I was going to pull zert out.

fixer67
07-24-2007, 08:55 PM