PDA

View Full Version : Voltage Drop???

ok4me2xlr8
07-25-2007, 09:53 PM
I am kinda new at this and would like to know is there a tool that i can use to figure voltage drop on a long string of lights???

Chris J
07-25-2007, 11:31 PM
First of all, you never want to have a "long string of lights." Your lights should never be more than about 25' away from the point at which the power splits off. In other words, group your fixtures together and use multiple runs of wire. You can use a hub method, T method, loop or lollipop but don't ever daisy-chain fixtures unless it's only a couple of fixtures that are within a few feet of one another.
To calculate voltage drop, there are several different ways to do this. Some are very complicated, and some manufacturers provide software that will do this for you when you enter the required data (ie, length of run, total wattage and guage of wire). A very common way to calculate voltage drop manually is to multiply the total wattage on the run by the length of the run. You then divide this number by the cable constant (7500 for 12-2 and 11920 for 10-2). When you arrive at that number, I usually multiply it by 1.5 to get a very good result.
Example: 3 fixtures (35w each) at the end of 100' of 12-2 cable would look like this: 105w X 100'= 10,500 ..........10,500/7500= 1.4...........1.4 X 1.5 = 2.1 volts of drop. You would want to put your cable in the 14v tap in order to have 11.9v at the first fixture or put it in the 13v tap to have 10.9v at the first fixture.