PDA

View Full Version : Browning Lawn w/ Pics

STL Lawn
07-29-2007, 12:43 PM
This lawn looked great two months ago...I really don't know what happend.

We moved in to this house one year ago. The first thing I did was start the Scotts 4 step program. I also did some basic spot repairs. I had the lawn looking stellar this spring. It was really thick and green. But now its gone to the pictures below and I need to know what I've done wrong.

http://s87.photobucket.com/albums/k138/jddebord/Yard/

I'm more concerned with the back yard since it is much worse than the front, but I would appreciate any input that I could get on what I need to do to take care of this as I am new to the St Louis area and am not familiar with the types of problems that are experienced in this region.

I really enjoy working in the yard and trying to maintain the best lawn on my block, so it is really killing me having a yard that looks like this. I'll have to admit that I do not have a sprinkler system installed yet, so my watering isn't as regular as I would like, but this issue doesn't look like its due to a lack of water. Thank you in advance for your feedback.

ed2hess
07-29-2007, 03:02 PM
Did you use any weed-n-feed and what kind of weather have you been having?

sjessen
07-29-2007, 03:33 PM
I'm guessing it has/had a disease - maybe brown patch or something like it.

STL Lawn
07-29-2007, 03:47 PM
Yeah, I used some Ortho Weed-B-Gone early in the year to get rid of some clover. The weather has been pretty hot and dry over the past month. I do water, but like I said, I don't have a sprinkler system so its not on a scheduled basis.

Do you think I may have burnt it up? The brown spots have a weird, matted down look so went over them with a rake to get the grass back standing upright. Not much grass came up so I don't think I'm dealing with grubs, but could be some disease?