PDA

View Full Version : How do I apply this fertilizer?

lawnjet52
07-31-2007, 07:49 PM
I have two 50 lb bags of Urea 46%N. I was just wondering when the best time and how to apply this to the lawn.

I've never used it before, but I heard it can really help a lawn come back to life.

Keegan
07-31-2007, 09:17 PM
post it in the pesticide forum. you'll probably get a better response since this is the organic one

lawnjet52
07-31-2007, 09:21 PM
I asked them over there. I would erase this thread but dont see how.

mdlwn1
07-31-2007, 11:01 PM
46%? in this weather...your looking at an acre's worth...

mrkosar
08-01-2007, 11:34 AM
wait until late fall.

Kiril
08-19-2007, 09:35 AM
wait until late fall.

Your kidding right?

mrkosar
08-19-2007, 10:13 AM
Your kidding right?

no actually i'm not. BUT, i didn't realize he was working with warm season grass so it is probably different down there.

universities recommend putting down high soluble nitrogen in late fall for root growth and as a winterizer. many golf courses and lawn care companies do it.

are you kidding me? what the hell buddy.

Kiril
08-19-2007, 11:18 AM
no actually i'm not. BUT, i didn't realize he was working with warm season grass so it is probably different down there.

universities recommend putting down high soluble nitrogen in late fall for root growth and as a winterizer. many golf courses and lawn care companies do it.

are you kidding me? what the hell buddy.

I didn't see any mention of what type of turf he is dealing with. Without knowing the type of turf, how can you say late fall? I also didn't see you mention what rate it should be applied at?

Application of N where it is not deficient will generally not lead to increased root growth. Furthermore, if you over apply N, your most likely going to get a reduction of root growth, not to mention potential disease related problems.