PDA

View Full Version : Lawn striping

OwnAccord
08-02-2007, 09:18 AM
I am new to mowing and use a 32" walk behind. I am not getting many stripes when mowing....

I currently have the mower set up for mulching. Will I get better results if I use the side discharge?

I do not have a striping/roller attached to the mower but I would still expect to get stripes like so many of the other commercial mowers that I am seeing.

Thanks for any help

cgaengineer
08-02-2007, 10:26 AM
Are you running the rear of the deck 1/4 - 1/2 inch higher then front. I am not 100% convinced this helps, but have read that it does.

OwnAccord
08-02-2007, 12:15 PM
I am running 1/2 inch higher in the back

MJS
08-02-2007, 04:59 PM
How high are you mowing? That can make a huge difference. Tall grass usually stripes better than really short grass.

SSS 18734
08-02-2007, 05:12 PM
What type of grass are you cutting? The type of grass and the quality of turf makes the biggest difference. My 34" stripes some yards beautifully, but on others it just leaves ugly tire marks.

Capemay Eagle
08-02-2007, 07:51 PM
The way it seems that if you want stripes like a baseball field you have to have some sort of stripe kit. There are some easy ways to make some homemade kits or you can get a roller. Some people on here have told me that you don't need a stripe kit to have stripes, this may be true for some, but on my lawn you definitely need a kit, I have also tried to use the same pattern every cut and have learned to cut a little wider which has made a big difference.

DeepMudRancher
08-04-2007, 11:28 PM
haha, does your yard not burn if you mow the same way every time eagle?!??

If you double cut green grass at 3.5, you should get good stripes, i wouldnt do a striping kit, big waste of money i think, and dont see how it could be good for
the grass. i use the sulky as a stripe kit...haha

lawnstriper23
08-05-2007, 05:16 PM