PDA

View Full Version : tree repair and ivy control

JWHomeowner
08-03-2007, 05:42 PM
Hello! I am a newly retired school teacher with a BIG yard and lots of trees. I've been trying to get the yard under control and I made a mistake.
Question #1 - I didn't know I shouldn't prune my holly till winter. Should I protect the limb cuts with a sealant?
Question #2 - Second mistake, I allowed English Ivy to establish a home in my yard. Now I'm fighting it. It's like the evil empire. I'm pulling it out by hand in the humid heat of NJ August. I don't want to kill any of the other plants it has infested. Any suggestions?
Thanks to any pros out there who have the time and generosity to offer aid to a novice. By the way, I was the nice teacher, not the mean one!

MILSINC
08-05-2007, 08:07 PM
get a wick applicator and some roundup for the ivy. Sealants are generally a waste of time.

Rtom45
08-06-2007, 08:43 AM
There should be some broadleaf control chemicals that are labeled for ivy. These will control the ivy without killing your lawn. I don't have labels handy so I can't tell you what to use off the top of my head. Also, its a bad idea to use chemicals on your lawn if the grass is stressed. Make sure you're not in the middle of a drought or heat wave when you treat the ivy.

JWHomeowner
08-06-2007, 05:54 PM
LawnSite Senior Member, Thanks so much for the help on the ivy situation. I have less of a lawn and more of a forest. Mainly I was worried that ivy killer would hurt my holly and other shrubs under which the holly hides. I've been pulling it out by hand but it grows faster as I age quicker! It gets all over the place and invades my neighbors' yards too. It a persistent and hardy adversary, that's for sure. I'll look for the ivy stuff when the heat lets up a little - we are in a heat warning drought here in Jersey right now. Thanks again! JW

Dreams To Designs
08-07-2007, 07:27 AM