PDA

View Full Version : fb460v valve ticking

WhitakerServices
08-08-2007, 01:49 PM
hello to everyone, from a new member. I have been doing all my own repairs for all of my 5 years in business. Now I am beginning to hear a ticking noise that seems to be valve related. The engine has 5 years and no problems so I have very little experience with any large repairs on it. I do however have extensive automotive engine knowledge. That being said any advice from those with Kawi experience will be appreciated. I don't want to tear into it unless I have to. Thanks in advance.
Russ

Restrorob
08-08-2007, 09:18 PM
If they are ticking go ahead and check the adjustment, Kawasaki recommends this at 300 hrs anyway.

http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m314/Restrorob/FB460ValveAdjustment.jpg

But, If they are ticking that means the valve stems/tappets are worn and requires cutting the valve faces and seats to close the gap or try installing new valves along with cutting the seats depending on how big the gap is.

Good Luck

Breezmister
08-08-2007, 10:15 PM
But, If they are ticking that means the valve stems/tappets are worn and requires cutting the valve faces and seats to close the gap

Hi Restrorob, Just wondering, I have a seat cutting kit from Nuway, great set, and this old antique that I have to mount in a vise for the valves. What do you use for the valves ?

WhitakerServices
08-08-2007, 10:31 PM
I certainly appreciate the responses, and the pages from your book will be a great help. I have the head off now and other than some carbon build up I haven't found anything that should have caused the ticking (no signs of any parts collision). I will check the valve clearances tomorrow... after a day of 100degree mowing (while 1 mower down) ahh the life of the self employed. I also have to repair some head bolt threads from where the bolt seized, fun stuff. Thanks again.

Restrorob
08-08-2007, 11:12 PM
No problem W/S, Glad to lend a hand.....

Hello B/M,