PDA

View Full Version : First Lawn in USA - Need Your Help

NewtoUSALawns
08-09-2007, 11:36 AM
Greetings!

I am 40 years old and bought my first home in the USA this year (lived abroad and worked for US companies in the past). I have no knowledge of lawns in the USA, and bought my lawn equipment only this year.

I found this wonderful site around midnight yesterday.

I cannot even tell what kind of grass we have.

I am hoping that you folks can help me. I want to learn on my own rather than asking for help from a company like TrueGreen. The only reason being that I will never learn if I do not it myself and would never be able to teach my sons as well.

So today I took my sons in the yard and we measured SF of our lawn and took some pictures. I live in Indianapolis, IN and we have approx. 11,000 SF of lawn (no sprinkler system).

We have brown spots, and weeds (Annual Blue Grass, Bull Thistle, Clover White, Dollarweed/Pennywort, Yellow Foxtail).

So far I have put Pastures Fertilizer (50 lb. bag. 36-3-7), some Scotts Stuff and 10 lbs of (10-10-10). The pastures fertilizer was recommended by a friend who lives in country and I had leftover of (10-10-10) from the vegetable garden that we started.

I will be reading the forums and try to learn myself.

However please help us and point in right direction. What to use and where to buy (So far we have made countless trips to Lowes, Home Depot and Menards).

Cheers and Thanks!

PS: How do I get rid of grass that grown in joint of sidewalk?

NewtoUSALawns
08-09-2007, 11:44 AM
Some more pictures for your review.

Since I do not know what kind of grass/sod we have, I do not know where to start.:cry:

So I am asking for some help in learning this task, and recommendation of fertilizer and weed control.

weeble67
08-09-2007, 12:07 PM
Congrats on your purchase. You will find all the help you need on this site. I would offer my .02 but, I am not a fertilizer guy. I will bump you back up to the top.

tbettis
08-09-2007, 01:18 PM