PDA

View Full Version : Two questions.

Vikings
08-15-2007, 02:35 AM
1st question:

When I pull trailer with a 36" toro and a couple 21" mowers should I be using 2 drive or just keep it in D?
I'm using my 92 GMC Sierra.
This is the trailer.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v242/SubZero2040/100_0171.jpg

2nd Question:
When engaging the blades on the 36" Toro, should you do that when it's at low throttle? I've been doing it at high throttle for three months (it's three months old) but I only use it two days a week.

I started engaging them at low Idle today to see if it would work.. and it does but it's a pita. Every time I have to lift up a drain pipe or move something I have to throttle up and down and well as engage and disengage. I almost wish I had a clamp with me so I could just leave the blades spinning.

fiveoboy01
08-15-2007, 03:24 AM
I'll assume your truck is a 4-speed overdrive auto trans?

If so, I'd take it out of overdrive when towing...

For my walk behinds, I engage the pto around half throttle or so, and cut it to idle when dis-engaging. Both my walk behinds have a blade brake, and if I let the blades spin down some before disengaging the PTO(which engages the blade brake), I prevent excessive wear on the brake.

cgaengineer
08-15-2007, 07:03 AM
As fiveoboy01 says, leave the truck out of overdrive...overdrive and towing will kill the tranny.

As far as engaaging the blades on your Toro...my manual says to engage at full throttle so thats what I do.

Vikings
08-15-2007, 01:50 PM
I never used Over drive because I never go on the high way but I guess you're saying leaving it in D is ok, eh?

I figure that 2 and 1 gears are for REAL heavy loads.

As far as the Toro, I never read my manual :(

Turf Professionals Inc.
08-15-2007, 01:54 PM