PDA

View Full Version : Whats Easier, One Man Or Two

G & L lAWN CARE
09-11-2007, 12:28 PM
Had A Quick Question,
Is It Easier To Start A New Lawn Care Business With Just Yourself Or Trying To Make It A Two Man Show? I Have Been In Lawn Care But Im Just Getting Into Commercial Accounts. Thought About Adding A Person. Any Input Would Be Great!

Thanks

Shopkeeper
09-11-2007, 01:23 PM
I tried doing lawncare with a friend once and it worked out terribly. He didn't have the same drive and work ethic as me so he didn't work as hard or efficient. We broke up and I don't think I'll ever partner again.

MarcSmith
09-11-2007, 01:27 PM
I would not partner...but you could have an employee, but for a start up company an employee comes with headaches and extra costs, taxes, W/C, withholding, payroll, ect. On option to deal with this is to find a good employee and have him hire on with a temp service and then you pay the temp service as you need to use the employee....this way you are at least legit...

G & L lAWN CARE
09-11-2007, 02:00 PM
Thanks For The Info. I Thought The Same But I Wanted To Get Someone Elses Input Before I Decided. Thanks Again For The Info, This Site Is So Helpful For The Novice And Pro.

Thanks

shane mapes
09-11-2007, 03:59 PM
Had A Quick Question,
Is It Easier To Start A New Lawn Care Business With Just Yourself Or Trying To Make It A Two Man Show? I Have Been In Lawn Care But Im Just Getting Into Commercial Accounts. Thought About Adding A Person. Any Input Would Be Great!

Thanks
i started out solo and then went with an employee part-time in the first season. the second season i went with two part-timers then i went to a partener and two full time guys by the third year. depends on what you want to do. i also work full time at night . so go figure

Grits
09-11-2007, 05:06 PM
It is easier with 2 people (one employee). I think 3 people has to be the most profitable though.

topsites
09-11-2007, 05:39 PM
It's yin and yang...