PDA

View Full Version : Donated Services

Proline Man
09-12-2007, 04:37 AM
Hey everybody. Names Vance. I'm 24 and have been cutting lawns for roughly 5 yrs. This is my first year going legit. The whole nine yards. I love it.

Recently I have donated 5 full season lawn mowing and 6 fall clean-ups to a fundraiser for an 8 year old boy in my city who lost his right leg in a boating accident this past July. My mouth got the better of me. I'm kicking myself in the ass right now. The good thing is I raised well over 4,000 bucks for the family and got a lot of "free" advertising to go along with it. I placed out 350 business cards and all were taken.
One more good thing is, its ALL tax deductable.

My question is this: what do you think of donating such a great amount of these services? By the way all of the lawns are smaller than 6,000 sp feet. Would you have done what I did?
And if anybody has donted services for a fundraiser what were they???
I know I'll probably hear it from you guys about how much money I would have made if I wouldn't have done it. BUT I felt REALLY sorry for this kid. I know it will work out in the long run for myself (hopefully) will all the publicity from it. Hope to hear some good input.
Thanks for reading and have a great day.

JeffW0011
09-12-2007, 10:57 AM
Hey everybody. Names Vance. I'm 24 and have been cutting lawns for roughly 5 yrs. This is my first year going legit. The whole nine yards. I love it.

Recently I have donated 5 full season lawn mowing and 6 fall clean-ups to a fundraiser for an 8 year old boy in my city who lost his right leg in a boating accident this past July. My mouth got the better of me. I'm kicking myself in the ass right now. The good thing is I raised well over 4,000 bucks for the family and got a lot of "free" advertising to go along with it. I placed out 350 business cards and all were taken.