PDA

View Full Version : Digging a Pond

qps
09-24-2007, 08:39 PM
Getting a PC 200 from a buddie to use for my pond installion at my shop...(place to hide from customers and employees) any pointers as I've never done this before:laugh: .....should be interesting to say the least....I should say its a very small pond...I'll post pics as it goes along....

Dirt Digger2
09-24-2007, 09:08 PM
tip...dont let the local tree huggers or DEP find out that you will be messing with anything that involves a watershed, unless you only plan to fill the pond with runoff/rainwater (retention basin) then good luck keeping it full....if you have access to clay i would put a few loads of clay on the bottom and spread it around, it will act as a good liner...if you are daming a stream to make this pond make sure your earth dam is made of inorganic soil ONLY with good compaction and instead of letting water run over the top of the dam put some pipes in then add another 2 foot of cover to the pipe...this will help if it ever floods from washing over the top of the dam and washing the entire thing away...put more pipes then you need, preferably a few 8" pipes (it all depends on you inflow) have enough pipes to handle triple your inflow in case a large storm ever comes.

if you are just digging a hole and diverting a stream into it its pretty simple, just slope the banks down to the bottom and make it look nice...again, make sure your stream diversion ditch is not at a sharp angle (water likes to run in straight lines whenever possible) so keep that in mind, and dig your outflow larger then your inflow. This will again help in storms because in a storm your outflow is greater then your inflow because of the water running into your pond from other areas + your stream inflow + the amount of water that falls on the surface of your ponds water....

good luck...sure sounds fun

qps
09-24-2007, 09:23 PM