PDA

View Full Version : overseeding after aeration


smcunningham
09-25-2007, 12:49 AM
After you aerate do you just use a broadcast spreader and spread seed over the lawn for over seeding:confused:

smcunningham
09-25-2007, 04:52 AM
bump......

TAZ
09-25-2007, 05:09 AM
Two methods are to cut the current grass down, aerate, overseed by broadcasting. The other being Aerate and use and slit seeder to put the new seed down. The slit seeder will give you better seed to soil contact but both methods are used and work.

-TAZ

smcunningham
09-25-2007, 05:13 AM
Taz, if I had a slit seeder I would probaly do it that way.

I overseed w/ a broadcast spreader after i aerate, just wanted to see what everyone else does, or if they do some other method.

jeffex
09-25-2007, 06:18 AM
I overseed with a spreader. I use a walkbehind rental aerator. For bare spots I lift the back end up and it will till the bare ground for good soil contact. I ask my customers to water the night before I come in this drought to get a good plug. My price is based on the number of passes needed and the amount of bare spots. Some are aeration only . Seed is expensive and pricing is key. I'm calling all my customers trying to recover from the lack of mowing money.