PDA

View Full Version : Corner Lots?/Normal Lots?

bushwacker24
09-25-2007, 01:52 AM
Im new to this business but not mowing a lawn, I was once told that
I should price based on lots not actual sq.ft. is this wrong? Im charging $25-$30 for normal, and $35-$45 for a corner is there a better way?
also I started about 2 months ago (late in the season) and had not 1 cliente
but I went to all the real estate offices in my town and asked if there were any vacant homes that needed some attention, this got me 7 clients in about 2 weeks and 4 were on my 1st day of scouting. Now my worry is what happens when they finaly are sold or rented, I am wondering what to do for clients next season?

capetan
09-25-2007, 01:59 AM
heres my formula, say you have 21" mower multiply the mower sizes by $2 charge that an hour, so 42 an hour

bushwacker24
09-25-2007, 02:07 AM
so 36" is $72 hour, and I also I heard I should be charging $1 per minute for every lawn I do which turns out to be $60 hour so I guess its to each his own when it comes to pricing. thanks

topsites
09-25-2007, 02:42 AM
You have a system, work with that and tweak it a little over time as you see fit.
You'll be fine, that's all you need is a system, some kind of a 'ok here is how I do it.'
And if it isn't perfect, don't worry about it, mine isn't either (thou I sure like to think it is :laugh:)
It gets better with time, I think you'll see where you need to make adjustments eventually, etc, you're gtg really.

Vikings
09-25-2007, 02:54 AM
Yeah, I actually do have a price list for sq. ft. and charge extra for corner lots but sometimes the city cuts the grass on the corner. I'm still small time in lawns and now I know that the most important thing is obstacles and gate sizes, trimming and the customer attitude.