PDA

View Full Version : New Business in NJ

Perkins
09-28-2007, 12:39 PM
Hello All. I have been checking this site out for a week or so and have gotten many usefil tips etc. Thank you.

I am starting a new lco in April 2008 and am looking for some information. I am completely new to the business so please excuse me if I ask some stupid things.

A. In NJ what permits if any do I need?
B. What kind of insurance do I need? Anyone know of any good compainies that might offer it all?
C. LLC or S-corp, which entity would you suggest? I would prefer to lay myself for the winter and plow, but have that money just go into the business account.
D. 1/2 ton or 3/4 ton? I really want to go with the 3/4 but budget might not allow it... Will a half ton do the trick in the winter with a plow? I am not to worried about towing, I figure a double axle trailer with a 36 or 42 wb and possibly a 60" z turn down the road after I get a few bigger accounts, more concerned with the plowing for the winter.

Thanks guys!

M&SLawnCare
09-28-2007, 08:27 PM
A) No permits if you don't plan to fert or use pest/herbicides. Just need to fill out the registration at your local county clerk (for sole prop) and then register for taxes which can be done online.

B) You don't "need" insurance by law, but its a very good idea to have general liability. I have selective, and pay $675 for 1 mill liability and 5k marine on my equipment per year.

C) I'm still a sole prop so i can't really help you there. However i do know that almost everyone that isn't a solo prop go with LLC. My bank even assumed i was an LLC when i said i do lawn care and i had to correct them when i set up my account.

D) I don't plow, however, if you plan to do much of that get a 3/4. A 1/2 will do it (heck I've seen jeep wranglers plow lol) but you'll beet the heck out of it and it wont last. A 1/2 ton as you said will be fine pulling an open trailer with 2 mowers on it.

LB1234
09-28-2007, 08:39 PM