PDA

View Full Version : New to the bussines! Help on fall-clean ups

royalinc
09-21-2001, 01:04 PM
Hello to every one!

I am relatively new to the business and I want to star this fall season by doing residential fall clean-ups. What equipment do I need to perform the clean ups. Do you charge by the hour or do you have a flat rate per house?
Thank in advance, for your help.
Royal

:confused:

awm
09-21-2001, 04:57 PM
clean up can involve different things. mulching mower,brush cutter ,cutter hedge cutter,chain saw ,ladder, ropes,gloves,pesticide license helps id have to go out and look every thing over but im sure there are other things like a means to dispose of debree etc.you might do a search.

kutnkru
09-21-2001, 05:12 PM
http://albums.photopoint.com/j/View?u=1249267&a=11879452&p=42558593

Make sure that you have one of these to plow and bag those leaves.

We basically blow the ornamental beds free of leaves/debris and then bag the properties up. Mulching I have learned is the way to fly and I will be trying that this season with double blades. The main idea is to keep the leaves and pine needles from smothering the grass.

Hope this helps.
Kris

MATTHEW
09-21-2001, 08:31 PM
Some guys have a lot of great gear. Me, I do it the simple and most cost effective way. I am phasing out of mowing, so I do not want to invest in any big equipment. For basic leaf cleanup, I start by blowing all leaves out of the beds into the lawn. Then I cut the lawn with the catcher on it and dump the debris into the bed of the truck. The leaves are pretty condensed when I use the Gator Magnums. As far as the charge, the normal mowing fee plus a nominal charge for labor (blowing) and a fee for each bag removed. On the invoice it has MAINTENANCE $________
MISC. LABOR $________
DISPOSAL $________

dlandscaping
09-21-2001, 08:50 PM