PDA

View Full Version : How many clients? - Fall clean up

rodneyamolt
10-04-2007, 06:01 PM
Hi all. I'm new to this site and i'm currently serving in the military. I get out next September and plan on hopping right into the fall clean-up. Being that this is my first year in the business, what are the chances of me getting enough clients to pay the bills. I will be advertising quite a bit and running a 2-3 man crew for this.
What is your guys average for the season?

Any info would be appreciated.. thanks..

topsites
10-04-2007, 07:18 PM
I would save as much cash as you can from now on, that's my first and only bit of advice sir, and good luck.

rodneyamolt
10-04-2007, 07:22 PM
lol. Thanks :) advice taken.. Anyone else have anything to say?

barefootlawnsandlandscape
10-04-2007, 09:42 PM
Don't bite off more than you can chew. Fall clean-ups can be a suprise, I know they were for me my first year. I would see what I could get done on my own the first fall. If you get too busy the first couple of weeks of leaf removal hire someone. I wouldn't plan on going into it with a 3 man crew. I did it with two people last year. This year we are going into fall with 10 men and that might get cut before the major leaf removal starts. We have 65 properties under contract to do, and are advertising as we speak with direct mail. The first year will bite you in the butt a couple of times. I spent all day on jobs that I expected to take about 3 hrs. I was glad that I charge by the hour.

Good luck and thank you for your service!

Sweet Tater
10-04-2007, 10:14 PM
My advice...first I would say stay in the full 20, you won't regret it.. second I agree with Topsites. Good luck. Thanks for serving the country

green-pa
10-05-2007, 02:20 AM
As far as competition do many of u guys have to worry about kids offering to rake hole yard for like $15-25, when it's a 2-3 hour job and u would charge at least $40-$90!

Dunlaps LawnCare
10-11-2007, 11:33 PM