PDA

View Full Version : Job ideas to make it through winter

green-pa
10-05-2007, 01:36 AM
I was thinking about truck driving but I don't even know how to drive a truck (semi) yet? Is the training hard?

Other ideas:

Dish network installer

Paper routes

Car Sales

Open up a day care ( and see if I can get my gf to do most the work; hee hee)

Anything but waiting tables ( my old job)

Just wanted to know what u guys think about these and/or if u have any advice to offer about these. This is my first year in the biz and the IRS took what I had in checking and saved ( b&$std$) for back taxes ( not lawn care biz related ). I know ther eis fall cleanups, snow removal, and things, but it seems most of those are hit and miss and surely won't equal the $/week I'm making at this time which is what I need to keep the bills paid.

Daddy Joes Lawn Service
10-05-2007, 06:55 AM
Make enough during summer to hold me till it starts up again i just sit back and relax!:sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping:

LushGreenLawn
10-05-2007, 09:48 AM
some of the things you posted it seems you can't do part time.

People don't want to have a babysitter for half a year, just like your customers would not want you to mow for only 3 months.

A car dealership is going to want a salesman to be committed 24/7 365 days a year. What happens when your repeat customers need you during lawn season to buy a car.

Same deal with just about anything but a wage slave job where you won't make much. I would just relax or get a wage slave job you don't mind doing. I am going to work at Staples part time in the winter, more for something to do. Its what I used to do full time, and I enjoy it.

LushGreenLawn
10-05-2007, 09:51 AM
Actually, I almost forgot....