PDA

View Full Version : Thing about starting a business (not sure if its worth it)

RLS24
10-06-2007, 11:47 PM
Ok, I have a bit of a unique situation here. I am currently a full-time EMT and spend 4 days a week on an ambulance. While the pay is ok, a little extra would be nice, so i was thinking about starting up a small lawn cutting business. I work on a rotation shift, so its 4 days on, 4 days off. I would probably only do 10-15 accounts, just enough to keep bussy? anyway, as far as equipment goes, I have a Honda 21", brand new echo PB-200 blower, brand new echo trimmer (cant remember the model, its a Commercial grade one though) and at the very least was thinking of picking up a McLane edger next spring. I have a'03 Ford Explorer with a V8 in it, so i figure it would be enough to tow a small trailer. I'm thinking all i'd really need would be a walk-behind (i was thinking a 36" would do) and the trailer? any suggestions on equipment and business ideas would be great! thanks!

HOOLIE
10-07-2007, 12:35 AM
You might be able to fit all that stuff into the Explorer and not need a trailer...of course if you want a 36" then you'd need a trailer. That of else sell the Explorer and buy a truck and use ramps for a 36"

10-15 jobs would be good...still leave you a buffer for rain.

capetan
10-08-2007, 03:19 PM
15 accounts sounds responsible, a 36 would be nice, you might want to look at an exmark model, either get a truck or trailer..... good luck, sounds like your on the right track

All_Toro_4ME
10-08-2007, 03:34 PM
10-15 accounts sounds like that will keep you plenty busy. For the trailer, you will probably do fine with a 5 x 10. You may outgrow it before you know it though. The 36" will be a good machine to buy as well. Get a sulky for it though, you will be more productive.

Integritylawncare
10-08-2007, 08:43 PM