PDA

View Full Version : Electrical License/certificate needed for NY, NJ, CT?

Lawn Designers
10-17-2007, 02:39 PM
I have been doing lawns only for the past 2 yrs, mowing, mulch, trees and was very interested in getting into the low voltage lighting. I have always referred these jobs when my customers ask but I want to get involved. I plan on taking the appropriate classes, readings, and working with someone on the first few projects. I recently heard you need a licensed electrician even though it is low voltage, is this true? I know not all of my competition abides by this? Are the laws enforced? Fines? Please respond for above states.:nono:

JoeyD
10-17-2007, 03:08 PM
Contact Glen Nyhuis in NJ @ 973-518-2717. He can fill you in on everything you need to know regarding this issue.

NightScenes
10-17-2007, 03:12 PM
New Jersey and Connecticut both require an electricians license. New York does not. I would check with your local inspectors to see if they require you to have one or not.

Lawn Designers
10-17-2007, 03:25 PM
I want to do this right and legal, but I think I would lose so much profit using a electrician to basically just put a plug in an outlet! I don't understand its low voltage, an electrician doesn't seem to be necessary. I will call Glen and see what he says, thanks Joe.

JoeyD
10-17-2007, 03:40 PM
I want to do this right and legal, but I think I would lose so much profit using a electrician to basically just put a plug in an outlet! I don't understand its low voltage, an electrician doesn't seem to be necessary. I will call Glen and see what he says, thanks Joe.