PDA

View Full Version : Just Lighting??

ADVANSCAPES
10-20-2007, 02:19 PM
How many of you guys out there only do landscape lighting. I have been in the landscape business for years and have never done any lighting...but am fascinated by landscape lighting. I think I would much more enjoy designing and installing lighting systems over plant install/maint. How did you guys break away from landscaping and go into lighting. What are some good educational/certification resourses for someone like me.
Thanks in advance.
Alan

Go Halogen
10-20-2007, 04:32 PM
Just lighting is a tough road to get to. It does not happen soon enough.
I have been a landscape architect and assistant professor of Horticulture for 14 years. I started adding lights to my designs, trying to find qualified contractors to install. It was not ez. I started doing my own install and now I only do lighting (and still teach of course).

I attend a lot of seminars: advanced design, trouble shooting, sales and marketing, and new product presentations. I started with Vista Lighting and now I incorporate many brands to get the desired effect that I am after.

Sign up for some Basic seminars. Go into a John Deere Landscapes Supply, Horizon or who ever is in your area and ask about seminars. Vista gives a general intro course that is very nice and they do not toot their own horn during the class. It is basic, and you can take that info and go anywhere else you want. No brain washing. Check out their website: www.vistapro.com.....You can find seminars listed under training.

Over all, I have been very happy with their service and product.
They have field reps all over. My rep is Anthony Italia (North East Area).
He has helped me through many difficulties.

Good Luck.........

Andy

p.s. Remember this.....No Short Cuts!! :nono: Do everything as you would for your own house.

pete scalia
10-20-2007, 08:17 PM