PDA

View Full Version : DCA installed above ground?


CAPT Stream Rotar
10-25-2007, 06:48 PM
Ok since I did not have the digi cam with me today:


Property on a hill lets say 35' pitch about 100 feet long yard, house in the middle. Nice house BTW(sh!t system).In about 50 feet down the hill on the foundation of the house is a watts 1'' DCA,
I was stunned but something started to click(strangely)>
The reason why its not a Pvb is because the height of the sprinkler heads in relation to the location for the POC.I bring up this issue cause I always thought the DCA should be installed in the ground.Have you all seen this before? Should The DCA of been installed in the ground?Does it matter?

thoughts?
Comments?
Concerns?

londonrain
10-25-2007, 06:52 PM
either/or.... the new Wilkins 350 DCVA ,the entire checks come out in one piece for easy winterizing ...

jimmyburg
10-25-2007, 06:53 PM
Double checks can be installed above the ground, but for cosmetic and freeze reasons they are put in the ground. Its just like a PVB or RPZ in winter time you would have to wrap it or put heat strips on it to keep from freezing.

CAPT Stream Rotar
10-25-2007, 06:57 PM
London-I'm pretty sure it was a watts standard...

Dirty Water
10-26-2007, 12:06 AM
Are you sure it was not a RPZ

CAPT Stream Rotar
10-26-2007, 06:38 AM
Are you sure it was not a RPZ

I want to go back and take a pic..But i know what a DCA looks like.

Flow Control
10-26-2007, 07:51 AM
Simple, did it have a discharge on it

CAPT Stream Rotar
10-26-2007, 04:03 PM
Simple, did it have a discharge on it

by discharge do you mean Boiler drain?

jimmyburg
10-26-2007, 04:12 PM
by discharge do you mean Boiler drain?

i think he ment a discharge is the opening on the bottom of the rpz, which discharges water.

Dirty Water
10-27-2007, 04:19 PM
DCVA

http://www.pexsupply.com/img/categoryImages/Watts-007-Double-Check.gif

RPZ

http://www.pexsupply.com/img/categoryImages/Watts%20Pressure%20Assembly.jpg

Note the outlet in the bottom, and the different testcock configuration.