PDA

View Full Version : How to improve on your demo's

The Lighting Geek
11-18-2007, 01:33 PM
OK, I think we have debated to nausium pros and cons of demos. I wanted to start a thread for those of us who choose to do demo's and how can do a better one.

Please chime in...

Mike M
11-18-2007, 02:26 PM
Okay, this is demo post #3 or #4 in a week. You think a fresh start will keep out debates or comments from fence sitters or the no-demo guys? You started a great topic and we got great responses from everyone, even those who don't do demo's. Just let it keep rolling.

I would like to know more about 3 specific things, I'm still a beginner, and have only done 3 demo's with a small set I made for myself, based on a 300 watt transformer.

(1) How are you placing temporary fixtures on roofs (see my roof-rig thread)?

(2) What is your transformer configuration for 40 plus fixtures? I guess I could use surge-protectors or similar as hubs, as I am using spliced extension cords and sockets on the transormer for quick set-ups.

(3) What steps do you take for leaving a demo up for multiple days?

My latest interest is in getting a professional-looking container set up, and I'm looking at 2 Stanley products (one $50 the other $100), plus Lowe's has another product that matches my tool bag (image attached). I was very impressed with your truck. I have a new f-150, but I don't want a cap or cover (the weather should be fine the evenings I haul the stuff out). I bought a chrome moon-lighter (ironic name) ladder rack, and now I need to pick a good all-around ladder (any recommendations?). The ladder purchase is new to me, as I am finally getting over my fear of heights (this happened after I built a deer stand and shot my first buck, lol). At present I have a few step ladders.

Thanks for any help!

Mike

NightScenes
11-18-2007, 02:48 PM