PDA

View Full Version : The Dump Truck Shakes

gilatplc
11-19-2007, 07:06 PM
I have the hydraulic cylinder rebuilt for my dump truck and I did the install and removal, the shop told me just reconnect the hoses and run the bed up and down about 10 times and you should get rid of all the air in the lines. Well I think all the "air" is out for it goes up and down no problem except when going up it shakes, kinda bad to. I when back the shop that rebuilt the cylinder and he told me there's still air in the lines and to keep running the bed up and down.

Well itís been up and down about 100 f@#ing times and its still doing the same thing, what else should I do. The bed is power up power down.

PlatinumLandCon
11-19-2007, 07:29 PM
It sounds like there's quite a bit more air than the little bit of air the shop thinks is in there. You have to bleed the lines somewhat in order to get most of the air out. i'm no expert in hydraulics but it just sounds like you have too much air in the system.

CPOonfinal
11-19-2007, 07:52 PM
I'm new, I know, but I'm a hydraulic mechanic. You need two people. One to actuate the lever and one to crack the line going to the cylinder. Be very careful, hydraulics have very high pressure. There are two basic types of cylinders, one only applies pressure in one direction, while the other will provide force in both. Crack the bottom line on the ram furthest away from the resevoir (if more than two rams), actuate the lever and bleed the air. Close the line as soon as fluid flows out while the ram is still extending (not contracting). Repeat for the other ram (if more than one). Check fluid level and check for the shakes.

I'll introduce myself in another thread. Trust me, I'm from the Government, I'm here to help..... :)

gilatplc
11-19-2007, 10:25 PM