PDA

View Full Version : Flat trailer plug to round ?????


Supper Grassy
11-28-2007, 02:46 PM
I have an '01 ford explorer and i was wondering is there any way to convert my flat wire plug to a temporary round one


or do you have a better solution for attaching a LIGHT BUSTER


I want this to be temporary

PLM-1
11-28-2007, 03:20 PM
Get a hoppy dual recepitcal. You actually plug the 4-flat into the back and it powers the 7 round and you can add other accessories to the round as well.

PLM-1
11-28-2007, 03:22 PM
Here: http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_6970_734794_734794

Supper Grassy
11-28-2007, 03:31 PM
What has to be done to install this?

outlaw1960
11-29-2007, 12:17 PM
parts stores sell adapters.

PLM-1
11-29-2007, 07:25 PM
What has to be done to install this?
Plug it in and mount the plug somewhere.

deere615
11-29-2007, 08:14 PM
I have that Light Buster and it is pretty nice. Why only temporary?

Supper Grassy
11-29-2007, 08:16 PM
I am thinking using a few times a year, and i may want to pull trailer with flat pluw

PLM-1
11-29-2007, 09:17 PM
The multi tow lets you do both. 7way and 4 flat

Supper Grassy
11-29-2007, 09:22 PM
PLM ok, i understand that but what i do not get is how do i wire the 7 up i know it has a 4 way flat and then the 3 wires coming out that do the 3 wires hook to?

topsites
11-30-2007, 02:39 AM
parts stores sell adapters.

That's what I always do, far easier than re-wiring.

LindblomRJ
11-30-2007, 04:20 PM
I have a pigtail that I wired up from 6 round to 4 flat. It could be done visa verse too. At times it might be cheaper than the parts store adaptor

dcondon
11-30-2007, 04:29 PM
PLM ok, i understand that but what i do not get is how do i wire the 7 up i know it has a 4 way flat and then the 3 wires coming out that do the 3 wires hook to?

You don't have to wire anything, just plug it in and go. They even sell them at wal-mart.I can take a pic of mine for you if you don't understand.

Supper Grassy
11-30-2007, 04:31 PM
Pic please

dcondon
11-30-2007, 04:32 PM
You don't have to wire anything, just plug it in and go. They even sell them at wal-mart.I can take a pic of mine for you if you don't understand. (I'm talking about the adaptor)

Supper Grassy
11-30-2007, 04:35 PM
Oh ok, i will have to look there

dcondon
11-30-2007, 04:42 PM
Mine is in my truck at the shop but this is the same thing. You can get them just about anywhere.

http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_6970_200336745_200336745

Supper Grassy
11-30-2007, 04:45 PM
thanks for help

rfed32
12-02-2007, 09:18 PM
u dont need to hook them to anything...they are for if u have a break controler and such..all u do is plug the 4flat into the back its and then mount it where u need it...then on the other side it has both femals for 7 and a 4 so u can mount it on the hitch or whereever u want to and ur good to go....

Supper Grassy
12-02-2007, 09:26 PM
thanks for the reply

TGM
12-07-2007, 08:48 AM
http://www.cabelas.com/home.jsp;jsessionid=4Z3DC5GATQBOZLAQBBKCCOFMCAEFKIWE?_requestid=17703

the only problem i see with that is the reverse light part.

-on a 4 pin you have ground, left blinker/brake, right blinker/brake, and tail
-on a 7 pin you have ground, left blinker/brake, right blinker/brake, tail, electric brakes, 12v source, and an Auxilary. on some bigger trailers, the auxilary is used to reverse lights.

i would suspect that you could plug it into an adapter/7 pin and just splice a wire into the reverse lights in the harness