PDA

View Full Version : Gaining credibility as a newby?

GreenAcresLC
12-03-2007, 10:11 PM
Hello all. I am new to lawnsite. In the spring, I'll be starting a new lawn service biz. Mowing, trimming, edging, blowing...the basics. I think I need to check with my local ext. agent about licensing for applying fertilizer. Yes, I will be legit, filed all papers to start out as an LLC. I have filed LLC as a way to sort of separate myself from the business, as I have in the past with my trucking company. I will be getting business insurance to save my butt in the event of disaster, and the great old KY DOT which I'm so familiar with will be giving out another number to me, and probably ridding me of any profits I may make. I think I may have to get local permits, but I'll wait til the year starts to get those.

The question I have is this:
I have learned through owning and dispatching a few trucks that gaining credibility without low-balling to get started is nearly an impossibility. Is it going to be the same for me here, in the lawn service industry? I am prepared to give it my all, learn what needs to be learned, and get the equipment needed to grow, whatever. But how is this to be conveyed to the potential customer? As a new upstart, I have ZERO credibility in this business. I have no lawns to use as examples of my work. I really do not want to begin business as a low-baller who does cheap work and gets crappy results of rushing (you rush to make the lower price seem fair to you, right?) This just seems like a recipe for failure.

How do you go about getting new customers to believe in your abilities when there is no proof to show them?

Thanks for any input, this forum has loads of good information.

privatelawn
12-03-2007, 10:16 PM
Look and act professional and you may not be asked for refrences or how long you have done it for. No need to lowball you will maybe just not get the accounts that want references and stuff but evantually you will have some.

EJD Lawnpride