PDA

View Full Version : oil weight question

scottm1
12-09-2007, 01:36 PM
What weight oil is recommended in my 29 HP Kawasaki. Should I use straight 30W or 10W30?

Restrorob
12-09-2007, 04:49 PM
You can use either, If you choose 10W30 check the oil level more often per Kawasaki.

badluck
12-09-2007, 10:03 PM
i have a 25 horse kawaski and i was intending to put 15w40 diesel oil in it at first oil change. i have been using this oil in kawaski motorcycle for 6 years with no trouble. is ther anything wrong with this idea?

bigmower1
12-10-2007, 09:47 PM
Here is what i do when I put oil in my mowers. First of all you should not use oil with that high of a rating, especially if it is cold because it will probably damage the bearings or the oil rings. What I do sounds crazy but it works perfectly. Figure out how much oil goes into the engine and buy Mobil One 15w50 oil and 10w30 Mobil One oil and Duralube. Get the 15,000 mile oil, the good stuff if you can. Put a little bit shy of half of each into the motor and then add a few ounces of the Duralube. I have been doing this for as long as I can remember and I never had any mechanical trouble with any of my four cycle engines, and some of them have over 4000 thousand hours on them and still run perfectly and look like new on the inside. The only thing i ocationally have to do is change the head gaskets every 1200 or 15000 hours of use because they simply wear out. I put a high quality synthentic filter on the engine(one of the Fram oil filters will fit it). I only change the oil two times a year. Once in the beginning and once in the middle of the season. You can change it more often if you want, but it isn't necessary, because the oil holds up very well, even in hot weather. Thats what I do and it works.

topsites
12-11-2007, 04:15 AM
It took a few years and I'm still between a couple of grades, but my eventual goal is to use the SAME oil in everything.