PDA

View Full Version : Stihl FS85 problems

Mikol
12-29-2007, 05:27 PM
While working at full speed ,all of sudden it shuts off. then when I go and try to start it back up, nothing.I have to let it sit for a couple of hours.then it works fine.can any one help. Thanks

p.s I am no mechanic but it seems like something is causing it to flood.

Ridin' Around
12-29-2007, 05:52 PM
check for spark at the plug when it is dead, a good spark checker will eliminate that problem or point it out in a hurry. If the plug is not getting the signal to fire it would seem flooded. (wet plug) A bad coil can cool and fire again in some cases.

Roger
12-29-2007, 06:30 PM
I had a similar problem with my FS85 a couple of years ago. It was the ignition module that had gone bad and needed replacing.

I would ask how old, now many hours of use, etc. But, electrical problem often don't follow usage patterns (e.g. some last forever, some don't last very long).

LawnTamer
12-29-2007, 06:32 PM
I might also suspect a bad coil. I had a Maruyama edger that would do that, new coil fixed it right up.
I am no mechanic though.

AmsoilPower
12-29-2007, 06:48 PM
I do believe Stihl has a lifetime warranty on their ignition modules. It is at least worth asking the dealership.

Roger
12-29-2007, 10:38 PM
I do believe Stihl has a lifetime warranty on their ignition modules. It is at least worth asking the dealership.

I think you are correct. However, in the "heat of battle" when I wanted to back running, to think about working through the system to get a warranty payment was the last thing on my mind. By the time the approvals came through, I would have been a few says behind in my schedule, and getting the machine back running is critical.

DavisLawn
12-30-2007, 12:12 AM
pretty sure its a coil.

Mikol
12-30-2007, 12:37 AM
Thanks for all the Quick replies.I will check the coil out.

J.J.
12-30-2007, 12:56 AM
I have a stihl edger that did the same thing, and they replaced the coil and it works fine.

ed2hess