PDA

View Full Version : equipment and expectations

capnsac
12-31-2007, 02:22 AM
Alright, so I have been reading post after post trying to get a general idea of where to start in the midst of all the information on this site. First off I will start out with the generals. I have my liability insurance of 1,000,000 already in place, I have 5 years of mowing experience, and I am incredibly eager for grass to start growing.
I have four contracts already lined up come spring time with the help of my old boss which he is subcontracting to me. I am very fortunate to have these four contracts, but I also want input if I should stretch my legs a little bit more or stay conservative until I am acclimated with flying solo.
Here is the low-down on the properties; One is a homeowners association and I will be taking care of the big mowing areas, commons areas, back yards etc. The total sq. footage of the property is 750,000sq. ft, and I would like to guess that I will be handling 40% of the mowing. The other 3 are commercial properties that he is handing over to me, which he claims will take roughly 8 hours to do. I am thinking that he is being a little conservative on these times because I think I can get them done faster. Although I won't know until I actually do them.
Now for equipment I already have a 60" Cub-Cadet Tank bought (after many months of research) I am looking at getting either a 36" hydro or 48" hydro walk-behind (cannot decide which yet), a 21" walk-behind, blower, trimmer and a 6x12 trailer (seems to be the popular favorite size on lawnsite)