PDA

View Full Version : grass clippings

grassman2008
01-03-2008, 10:45 AM
I'm new to the game and have many questions. My first question is how do I approach grass clippings. I have a new Gravely zero turn commercial mower with a mulch kit installed. It seems way too much work to bag clippings, especially since I am focusing on commercial properties, some an acre or more in size. If I mow regularly, removing only a third of the blade at a time and using mulching blades, shouldn't I be okay? Since a substantial ammount of the nitrogen and phosporus are slowly returned to the soil, it seems actually better for the turf. Being new, I want to be prepared for all possible issues customers might raise.

bohiaa
01-03-2008, 11:51 AM
We dont bag nor mulch....

Simply discharge, however, there are some cases where "for safty reasons" we close the flap on the Exmarks.

other than that Just discharge.

If a Customer wants it bagged, It's extra. the towns I service Will NOT pick up grass clippings, But they will allow free dumping for mulch. "grass clippings, leaves, and such"
But there ya go, it's a trip to the land fill and bags and time.

echeandia
01-03-2008, 04:08 PM
Since a substantial ammount of the nitrogen and phosporus are slowly returned to the soil, it seems actually better for the turf.

You are correct. It is better for the lawn and the landfill.

hackitdown
01-03-2008, 04:47 PM
I operate not too far from Keene, and I rarely bag a lawn. Usually it is not an issue if you cut once per week. I usually discharge, but I will bag in the fall when there are a few leaves starting to drop.

I try not to discuss bagging during the sales process, don't ask, don't tell. Many customers have heard that it is better to let the clippings stay, so they are open to the idea. However, I charge extra to bag if the customer requires it.

Tadams
01-03-2008, 04:59 PM