PDA

View Full Version : Electronic Trailer Brake Controller Question - Need Help

hayhauler
01-03-2008, 07:48 PM
I mowed yards this year and outgrew my single axle 6x10ft trailer. I'm now going to get a double axle trailer and I'm going to put a trailer brake(s) on my new one. I'm a novice as far as knowledge on this, so I'd appreciate some help. I see that several people get the Prodigy digital brake controller. Is there a reason that this is more liked than others? Should I go with a cheaper controller or not? Please respond with feedback whether it's positive or negative for one controller vs. another. Also, do you advise that I get one brake or should I have brakes on both axles? Thanks.

jimslawns
01-03-2008, 08:47 PM
How big is your new trailer going to be, how much weight are you carrying? What is the TN law on Trailer brakes, What Truck are you pulling it with?

Don't be cheap get a good brake controller.

moleman
01-03-2008, 08:47 PM
You've asked a good question and something I've also been wondering about. I know that many landscapers have the prodigy digital brake controller; however, I'm just wondering why so many folks select this particular controller. Is this brake controller the best or are there alternatives. I would appreciate any help on this matter especially since I'm on a limited budget.

hayhauler
01-03-2008, 08:53 PM
Thanks for the response Jimslawns. I'm getting a 6x14 trailer. I would only be carrying around 2,000lbs of lawn equipment, but the reason I'm going to a 14ft trailer is so I can carry more mulch/top soil when needed. I'm checking into the TN law for trailer brakes since I only had a single axle before. I'll be pulling this with a Silverado truck.

old oak lawn
01-03-2008, 09:06 PM