PDA

View Full Version : leaf cleanup pricing

born2farm
01-10-2008, 07:29 PM
hello fellas,

im am sorta new to the buisness. im only 15 and have a small lawn care company that services 5 lawns close to my house. next year when i can drive i would like to expand my buisnes. a lady a few houses down asked me what i charge to mow and do lawn cleanup. i got the mowing price but dont know what to charge for leaf cleanup.

he yard is a 1/4 acre intown lot with maybe 3 trees that drop heavy leaves. im goin to charge her $25 a week to mow it and figured that in the fall i would just tack on 5 more dollars a week to do leaves. i have a john deere lx 176 38in mower and a agri fab leaf vac that i use as well as some blowers and rakes. does this sound fair or too low?

thanks

Larson Lawn Care
01-10-2008, 09:21 PM
I charge my customers $40 an hour when I'm by myself, and $60 with another person. I have expensive equipment, and I have several years of experience, so we are pretty quick, professional, and we do an excellent job. Considering that you are 15 years old, I'm sure if they heard you say too high of a price, they'd laugh, and get another youngen to do it for cheaper. to be honest, if I were you, I'd tell her this: "Mrs. (what ever her name is) the price for mowing is $25, and as for the leaves, I'm figuring that it will take me about an hour longer than mowing, so the price will be $40". If she doesn't like the price, and you really need the money, or want the job, then ask her what price she had in mind, and if it isn't too crazy, then tell her you can do it for that much, but explain to her that it will cost you money for gas and oil, wear and tear on you equipment, and for lawn bags (if your going to use any) maybe she'll have some sympathy and give you more money. As far as the method for doing the leaves, mulch them up with the mower real good (make sure your blades are sharp, and if you have mulching blades that helps a whole lot) then blow them into a pile, and