PDA

View Full Version : Would starting a repair buisness be profitable?

singleguy18901
01-16-2008, 07:50 PM
I read the 23 page novel concerning dealerships and am considering starting a repair business. I'm no expert but do enjoy it and seem to have a knack for it.

My concerns are with the current and likely future business models in the industry.

Seems as it is not a good idea to be a dealer at all, but only a service and repair facility.

Seems good mechanics are getting older with no new younger generation wishing or willing to step in.

Would enjoy a discussion of the pros and cons of what might be a good business model to try for.

Thanks

MowerMedic77
01-16-2008, 09:22 PM
I read the 23 page novel concerning dealerships and am considering starting a repair business. I'm no expert but do enjoy it and seem to have a knack for it.

Have you ever worked in a dealer or shop setting?

ed2hess
01-16-2008, 09:30 PM
I think I wouldgo work for a dealer for awhile until you learn the ropes in getting parts and an idea of what you can make.

singleguy18901
01-16-2008, 10:02 PM
yes, I worked for a dealer.

A very small dealer.

As in the other thread, which after 23 pages slowly boiled into an 'us versus them, versus them' scenario, we were also pressed between the LCO's/customers and the manufacturers. Parts availability from the manufacturer on a timely basis was always a problem.

As a business model concerning the internet and parts ordering; and the LCO's stocking some of their own parts; could a mechanic make a go without being a dealer?

I feel that a mechanic could open and do well with LCO's if all their equipment was computerized and wear-n-tear was noted. Replacement parts could then be purchased before failure and replaced promptly.

Kindof like the scenario from the other thread where the LCO hired the mechanic in his off time, but in my case the mechanic making a company out of it, and thereby serving many LCO's.