PDA

View Full Version : Trimming bushes way back?

gogetter
10-26-2001, 04:06 AM
I asked this recently but I think it was lost when LS went out for a while.
Anyway, I have a customer who asked me to trim her bushes back to the branches for the winter.
Isn't it a bad idea to trim any bushes back that far, let alone right before winter?
I haven't responded to her yet. Wanted some input first. Thanks!

ERIC ROBERGE
10-26-2001, 05:11 AM
I am not a professional landscaper so anyone correct me if I am wrong. From what I have read on the subject you need to wait until very early spring to cut back the bushes. Right before or at the time they become active again. This is because the plant will pull the nutrients from the leaves and stems down to the roots to get them through the winter.
You also dont want to stress the plant during a time it can`t repair itself and recover. Cutting back a plant can also cause it to produce a lot of new growth which will not have time to harden itself against the harsh temps and winds of winter.

sheppard
10-26-2001, 07:16 AM
www.arboristsite.com

UrbanEarth
10-26-2001, 03:08 PM
What kind of shrubs are they? Why does she want it done? (looks, thinks it's too big?)

Alan

gogetter
10-26-2001, 03:47 PM
Alan, I kinda embarrassed to say, but I don't know what kind they are. Still haven't found a good book to help me with that stuff yet (plant identification).

As far as why, it's the overall size. When I trimmed them earlier this season, she showed me how far in she wanted me to go. I explained to her that this would leave the bush bare, no green left. Explained it would look pretty bad. So I took them back as far as I could before hitting bare branches.

She just wants them smaller overall, but she's talking like 1/4 to a 1/3 off of there overall size. That's taking alot off. And this close to winter, are they going to come back in spring if I do this????

Thanks.

Island Lawn
10-26-2001, 06:18 PM
You're going to need to know what kind it is!