PDA

View Full Version : cost per 1000 sf

rmmllc
01-18-2008, 09:35 PM
I am just getting into spraying this year- been in the cutting side for 6 years now. I was calculating the cost per 1000 sf today and came out to about $4.10. That is with pre-m, and momentum (herbicide), so less in the later apps. (that was pot ash, urea, iron, pre-m, and broad leaf herbicide) Does that sound about right? I know it is probably somewhat regional, but I was wondering what you guys figured. Then do you price the application via square footage, of coarse with a minimum price just to get there and do it?
How many use merit or something like it (a systemic) for pest control? How often is it applied?

RigglePLC
01-18-2008, 10:01 PM
Back in the 80's when I worked for Tru Green--we charged something like 16.00 base fee, plus Msqft times 2.60.

Seven thousand sqft was about 7 times 2.60 plus 16.00 or about 34.20. I think the chemicals cost about 50 cents. Crabgrass control round, about 80 cents.

I suggest you try to get your chemicals for about an average cost of about 1.85 per M. Charge about three times that per Msqft, for labor and chemicals and charge about 20 to 25 dollars for the trip and overhead cost.

PHS
01-21-2008, 10:17 PM
rm,

I'll just toss out another idea for you that may help. For the guys who are only in the lawn application business they're probably more comfortable doing everything on a price/sq ft basis and they are doing enough of it to have accurate numbers. Lawn IPM is just one service that I offer so for me it 's little easier to do my estimating based on time since my other services are based on time also.

So basically I know what my material costs are per Msqft and I decide how long it's going to take plus whatever for driving time to the property. Add the two together and I have a price. All of my overhead and profit is figured into my rate per hour already so that's why I use it. If you estimate your other work on time that might work for you.

Whitey4