PDA

View Full Version : toro walk behind used how do i engage the transmission.

aa1campbell
01-21-2008, 01:38 PM
I just bought a used toro proline walk behind, i have never used a walk behind before, i can get it started but can't get the gears to engage... It feels like its missing a belt or some kind of saftey switch... anyone have a idea..

topsites
01-21-2008, 03:15 PM
What?

Ok, there's a lever at the very back underneath the bars, right in center of the frame behind the engine sits the transmission, you see all this I think... This lever should move from left-to-right and vice versa, the gears, in case they're not marked are:
R - n - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 (and depending on the trans it could have a 5).
That's all tecumseh trannies anyhow, all the gears straight in a line, r+n+1-4 or 5.

On some of the older trannies you can't feel it anymore, but on the newer ones there's a distinctive click from one gear to the next, if you can NOT feel this click then for the purpose of this test move the lever ALL the way to the right and leave it there.
Even if you can feel the click this might be the best choice, moving it all the way to the right will put it in the highest forward gear, so do that.

Now underneath the transmission and under the frame there's a belt, goes from transmission to the engine shaft, is this in place? If so it needs to be checked for tightness with the engine off, there's a little spindle that goes through the deck that you can adjust it with. If in doubt replace this belt, $12 or so at Napa, probably the w410 or something, I forget but it's a 41 inch belt or thereabouts, agricultural / industrial grade...
Take the old one with you.

Once that belt is good and the lever is all the way to the right, starting the engine and pushing forward on the T-bar should get you something... It might not move straight or it might not move as you have in mind, but it should do something.

I assume the two side belts are in place?
Those might need replacing as well.