PDA

View Full Version : New to the Industry

travislakerat
01-23-2008, 06:09 PM
Hello Everyone-

I am new to this field. I have recently decided to go into land clearing / site prep. I have some friends that are more into the paving side of things and after long discussions I decided to take a plunge into trying something new.

I have limited experience on equipment with most of my learning curve happening on several pieces of land I have developed myself. So here is where I am at. I have purchased a Cat 420D with a Kent 1100# hammer. I have a Cat skid Steer in route but do not know the age/model # ( My father in law did some trade out for it and I have not picked it up.) I also puchased a 9" chipper/mulcher. I bought an older 1 ton Chevy and have also picked up a 28 foot flatbed gooseneck and a 16 foot bumper pull flat bed.

There is quite a bit of steady work in my area, but since this is a new venture for me and after what a lot of this message board has said, I am concerned about burying myself on the first couple of jobs. Granted, I am no where near as skilled as you guys on the equipment and so it will take me longer, but I need to learn how to bid quickly. Is there any way to help me reduce the learning curve so that I don't want to get out as soon as I get in?:confused: I need to get some form of base line of what I need to be charging for each piece of equipment and maybe some minimums. I have been researching the skid steer market some and found that in my area people are getting $90-150 an hour. I have found out that clearing trees with chainsaws and 4 laborers goes from $900-1200 per day. I have no idea about my backhoe.

As stated above, I feel I have adequate machines to get me going. I also have opened a rental account if I need anything else. I have lined up some help that have experience in running backhoes if I land anything large enough.

Thanks for reading and thanks for your help.

cat2
01-23-2008, 06:31 PM
welcome your going to love this site