PDA

View Full Version : Check your nuts (lugnuts)

GreenAcresLC
01-28-2008, 01:25 PM
All of us have trailers and trucks that see a lot of road travel. Be sure to check the lugs on both, and keep maintenance up on bearings and all mechanical items.

This happened on saturday the 26th on the interstate (I-71South in KY) as a result of a horse trailer losing a wheel. The story: I was not in the truck seen, my father was. I was traveling directly in front of him in my rig (I'm a full time local trucker looking to get off the road and more into the grass, just not like he did!). On the other side of the Interstate, heading north, a horse trailer lost a wheel and here it came! Across the median, and in between my dad and I. Figure the wheel/tire was traveling at least 55 (70MPH limit in KY), and dad's cruise set at 70, it was at least a 125MPH impact. The tire did so much damage under the hood and to the firewall and dash the truck is totalled! The picture does not to this accident justice. When the tire struck him, it broke the steering rod and locked his wheels as they are now, just a hair off center to the left. With no control (the engine died as a result of electronic malfunction, and the wheels locked in place), he crossed the left lane, into the median, and over onto the Northbound lanes, jackknifing in front of oncoming traffic. Very luckily, everyone saw what was happening, and no other vehicles were involved. All people came out untouched. Not so much for the truck though.

Now, just imagine the scenario was this: A small car, say one of the tree-huggers' Toyota Prius cars was travelling and the tire hit them. Probably be death for the passengers in the car. Think about this when doing maintenance on your vehicles, and do the very best you (we) can to insure everyone's safety.

By the way, the driver of the horse trailer didn't know he had lost a wheel until the State Police caught up with him 17 miles up the road.

PlatinumLandCon
01-28-2008, 01:44 PM