PDA

View Full Version : F450 V10 question

Terraformer
01-28-2008, 06:14 PM
I was thinking about buying a diesel rig, but this Ford F450 V10 came up. It's a 2001 with 18,000 miles on it and it's like brand new. Manual transmission and 4 yard dump. I would use it to pull a loaded 10k equipment trailer.

I have no experience with the V10. Will it pull well? Does the engine hold up well? What should I expect the fuel consumption to be loaded and empty?

All input will be appreciated!

lwcmattlifter
01-28-2008, 06:44 PM
I've logged a lot of miles on a F-550 V-10 automatic trans and 4.88 gears. If you have a choice get the diesel. This thing is a dog with any amount of weight in tow or in the bed. It needed the 5.38's in a bad way. Fuel mileage was around 7-9 at best. I think it would be better with a manual because you can keep the engine in the power band longer. That engine needs to stay above 3500 rpm to make any real power.

The 7.5 EFI that the V-10 replaced make the V-10 feel like a toy and got the same fuel mileage. We haven't had any breakdowns but only have 75,000 on the clock.

Gravel Rat
01-28-2008, 07:15 PM
Are you sure the truck doesn't have 118,000 miles. A truck with only 18,000 miles is very rare to never. Something doesn't seem right.

Anyhow the V-10 will be okay the engine will probably guzzle back 8mpg but the truck should have enough power. The older V-10s had spark plug popper problem.

If the price is right and it actually only has 18,000 miles go for it. If the odo isn't right then run like h*ll. You can tell if the clutch and brake pedals are worn off.

Terraformer
01-28-2008, 07:34 PM
Are you sure the truck doesn't have 118,000 miles. A truck with only 18,000 miles is very rare to never. Something doesn't seem right.

Anyhow the V-10 will be okay the engine will probably guzzle back 8mpg but the truck should have enough power. The older V-10s had spark plug popper problem.