PDA

View Full Version : CDL's...whos got one and what did you learn with?

Dirt Digger2
02-01-2008, 03:41 PM
since it looks like everyone has so much time on their hands with the slow down...who has a CDL? what did you learn on? what do you drive now

...i'll start, I started learning on a 6 speed L8000 ford tank truck, that thing is like driving a little sports car...then i moved to a F800 with a backhoe trailer and 5-2 tranny, then moved to a twin-stick Mack 10 wheeler, when that truck started to split its double frame it got turned into a on site haul truck and we got a Pete 10 wheeler dump with a 10 speed road ranger...that took some getting use to, then we got a brand new Pete 10 speed tanker truck...all of which i drive now

i have the Class A, air brake, and tanker endorsement...but i was also thinking of getting my passenger endorsement and while i am taking that test get the doubles/triples as well...what do you guys think? I would get HazMat too but i don't feel like shelling out $70 for something i probably wont ever use

ksss
02-01-2008, 03:45 PM
I got my B with a 33K single axle and my A with 378 Pete and Circle R side dump. It was a bit of step up.

BrandonV
02-01-2008, 04:00 PM
when i bought my tree spade i didnt have a cdl yet, but drove it around pretty much learned that way, took the test and been alright since.

RockSet N' Grade
02-01-2008, 04:08 PM
Class A........learned in a bobtail and then tandem dump. Took my test in some old Lake City International rental truck with no power steering and so many gears my left leg started to shake from all the clutching.....I had almost completely wiped that from my memory until you brought it up.....it is slowly coming to the surface now....

BIGBEN2004
02-01-2008, 04:25 PM
Class A took the test with a 98 Freightliner and 36' flat bed trailer. All I can remember was being very nervous but past all parts first try.

bobcatexc
02-01-2008, 04:36 PM