PDA

View Full Version : how to get folks to sign up?

grassmasterswilson
02-06-2008, 07:45 PM
I have been doing this for five years. Most of my accounts are mow only but when it is time to fertilizer/spray/etc I send out a notice and they reply. They usually reply much later than I need them too. I have tried two or three times to at least give them an estimate on monthly fert/spray and add it to their current bill. It is almost a waste of time to keep sending out 50 notices to the same people who never reply. But When their yard is slow then they want fert. You guys know what I'm talking about.

How did you get/sell your customers on adding the service? I have tried to tell them that then they won't have to worry about anything I will do it all but doesn't seem to matter?

Victor
02-06-2008, 08:29 PM
I don't know you from Adam Wilson, so I'm just throwing possibilities out there. Maybe one of these possibilities will sail right over the plate. You'd be the best judge of that.

While a lot of people could care less what kind of image the person they hire to mow their lawn has, people seem to be much more discerning about who they'll hire to provide them with an application program and for good reason. In their minds, anyone can mow grass. A lot of people see mowing as a totally unskilled trade. That's what gave birth to the "Lawn Boy" mentality many people have about guys that mow lawns.