PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some advice

TylerD
03-10-2008, 10:28 PM
Hey everyone, I am new to the seal coating business and have a couple questions concerning equipment and techniques.
This is what I plan on purchasing to get the job done rite all comments are welcome and suggestions would be appreciated.
-Little Wonder 5HP Honda Blower(Is this sufficient)
-Already have a spray system
-BLACKMAC sealant (has any one used this and is it good)
-What is the best product for covering oil stains
-Any techniques for spraying around homes and along the edge of the grass would be a great aid

Any advice that might be important that I missed don't be shy
Looking forward to hearing responses.

shepoutside
03-10-2008, 11:01 PM
-Little Wonder 5HP Honda Blower(Is this sufficient)
-Already have a spray system
-BLACKMAC sealant (has any one used this and is it good)
-What is the best product for covering oil stains
-Any techniques for spraying around homes and along the edge of the grass would be a great aid

Hello there !!

1. The blower should be fine, I have a 8hp, but most times, it's powered back. Maybe a back-pack blower would suit you better? I only use the push blower, for huge driveways, and parking lots.

2. BlackMac, from McAshphalt, is a great product. It's worth the drive to Toronto for me to get this product, as it's so much better then the stuff they sell around here.

3. I lightly burn the top oil off, ( tiger Torch) then any primer made to do this is fine IMO.

4. Around houses/flowers/cars etc, I turn the pressure down, and may even use a smaller angle tip. If it's at all windy, I'll tape paper ( I use the rolls that the body shops use) to anything that may get over-sprayed. I have boards on sticks or handles, that I use to edge the driveway. Most don't use the edging boards, but it make a huge difference.

Good Luck, and hope you have a great season !!!

fullmetalbucket
04-15-2008, 02:33 AM