PDA

View Full Version : how to get a lawn mowing business going

mattlmow
03-15-2008, 09:19 PM
I NEED HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i am a 13 yr old guy in NE and I have been doing my neighbor's lawn regularly for a few years. Although I like mowing for them I want to expand on my "business". I have passed out flyers for the past year and still no results. Do any of you have any comments or suggestions on how to get a business started? And PLEASE DON'T TELL ME I'M TOO YOUNG.
Matt

cgaengineer
03-15-2008, 09:21 PM
Is your neighbor happy with their service from you? If they are, ask them to pass out some business cards for you. Do you attend church? If that is a good place to start too. You wont get customer overnight you have to work to get them.

capnsac
03-15-2008, 10:12 PM
on the flyer tell em your 25 years of age and that you are licensed and insured and that you have 10 years in the business. Its all the same to them, because you are licensed and insured and all that essential stuff, besides being 25, so what's a little white lie...

tyler_mott85
03-15-2008, 10:12 PM
I started my own thing about your age with just a couple family members. The best way I found work was to have my parents ask around their work. Once you get a handful of happy customers slowly but surely your business will travel by word of mouth. Its really hard to just jump in and be really busy in this business without a lot of money to make commercials with. Maybe make some Business cards and hand them out to EVERYONE you meet.

greenleaf1
03-15-2008, 10:35 PM
put the word out with your friends and family members, pass out fliers, post a local add or two. just try to get a few jobs quickly and make sure to do a good job. word of mouth is the best form of advertising. good luck.

greenbaylawns
03-16-2008, 01:44 AM
Welcome neighbor. Work hard and they will come

BravoMow
03-16-2008, 03:52 PM