PDA

View Full Version : limited storage place


Turfrific
03-27-2008, 02:04 PM
I only have a small shed, does anyone keep there bigger equipment outside?

Lawnut101
03-27-2008, 02:11 PM
I have the same problem you have. My walkbehind doesn't fit in my shed. Last year I stored it in the garage. but that's not possible this year, because my dad picked up another mower last year. So his old one is in the garage getting fixed. I was able to work out a deal with one of my customers. I mow his lawn at his house 3x a month for $40, and his shop for $10 and he stores my 48" walk behind and my 2 21' mowers for me during the winter. This works out good for both of us. He's too busy to mow his lawn, and I get free storage.

kleankutslawn
03-27-2008, 02:12 PM
i use my enclosed trailer(20ft)

Turfrific
03-27-2008, 02:32 PM
So keeping them out in the elements might mess them up?

Lawnut101
03-27-2008, 02:42 PM
Well, parts will become rusty, which will ultimately lessen the life of the machine. If it were me, I would never store my equipment outside. It's too expensive to be in this biz without paying for unnecessary repairs. Know what I mean?

cgaengineer
03-27-2008, 02:51 PM
I keep my machines inside my shed from Home Depot (You can get a good price for a 10x14 like me for less than $2500 if you have the room for it on your property.

Turfrific
03-27-2008, 03:58 PM
that was my exact plan size and all,thing is i need my cash for the equipment lol.

cgaengineer
03-27-2008, 04:07 PM
I got the model up from the base unit (Upgraded floor joists, studs 16" on center, tar paper under roof shingles and double doors). Its a very nice building and for the money you cant build one. I got mine unpainted and I painted it to match my house.

Turfrific
03-27-2008, 05:00 PM
wow well thanks for the advise, probably just put mine on some gravel

cgaengineer
03-27-2008, 07:14 PM
wow well thanks for the advise, probably just put mine on some gravel


They will still have to level it which will put the joists off the ground. I would go for the 2x6 joists if you could as my mower dents the floor with the weight now on the 2x6's...I couldnt imagine what it would do with the 2x4's!

Turfrific
03-28-2008, 12:20 AM
never thought of that.

Runner
03-28-2008, 07:16 AM
You need to get it in somewhere...I have read TOOOOO many stories on here and elsewhere of peoples' equipment coming up missing. Get it done - fast.