PDA

View Full Version : Shrub Waiver

mpickel
03-31-2008, 09:53 AM
How many of you would make a client sign a waiver if they wanted you to cut back more then 30% of their shrubs? I have a client that we did a spring cleanup for, but they want us to cut back like 50% of thier shrubs. I warned them that it would only leave exposed branches and probably kill the shrubs. Mostly Indian Hawthorns and Silver King Euonymus.

progressivelawncare
03-31-2008, 10:01 AM
i just turn them down if they want me to ruin their shrubs i am new to this on a full time insured level and need to keep my name and reputation up. i just dont need that right now but thats just my thoughts.

MarcSmith
03-31-2008, 10:14 AM
just hacking a shrub to cut it back is bad, but deep /rejuvinative pruning if done properly can help a shrub recover from years of "shearing"

while In florida, I did a fair amoutn of heavy pruvingon things like ilex, pittosporum and hawthorne, with no ill effects. Yes the shrubs will look "bare" for about a year, but the end result would be a happier shrub that is better sized.

most people will come in with their shears and tip back the shrubs (apical cutting), and all that does is create more branches(brooming) while not really controling the size of the shrub. if you cut back 2-3" but the shrub is growing 6-10" each year........

Shearing is OK to do, but you still need to get the pruners out to go in deep to help keep shrubs at the proper height.

I would not balk at doing a deep prune job...just provide the client with a letter stating that the shrubs will not look real pleasing for a year or more. Depending on weather, fert, water, ect.. But int he end it will make for a better shrub.

http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/MG087

MarcSmith
03-31-2008, 10:40 AM