PDA

View Full Version : Trouble With New Customers

smitty2688
03-31-2008, 01:24 PM
So im just starting out in the business, i bought out about 20 accounts from a guy that was taking care of these yards last year. For the past couple of weeks i have been driving around to meet everyone face to face and take a look at their yards. On several occasions there have been yards that need alot of spring clean-up, in one case the yard was so packed with leaves that i gave the customer a quote of 5 hours at 45 per hour to clean everything up. I have come to find out that the last guy never did spring clean-up and so some of these customers are getting one hell of a sticker shock when i quote them these prices. They dont mind so much that i have bumped their prices from $25 to $30 but they have never had to pay for clean-up. I have explained to them that im not the neighbor guy running around taking care of yards but that this is a business. Now they are calling around to get a quote on other peoples prices and im afraid that im going to lose alot of them to the "low ballers" out there. Any advise?:confused:

greenspaceny
03-31-2008, 01:34 PM
Smitty..
Let them get some other quotes, You can't worry about the low ball guys out there. You need to get your price bottom line. In the mean time get out and sell sell sell. Than if you don't hear back from some of those other clients you still have work coming in..

Carolina Cuts
03-31-2008, 02:35 PM
ummm, how much $ did it set you back to 'buy' these 20 customers?

KGR landscapeing
03-31-2008, 02:48 PM
Its the good old saying You get what you pay for. let them go some place eles, they can change diffrent people everytime they dont enjoy the service

americanlawn
03-31-2008, 03:27 PM