PDA

View Full Version : Whatshould a newbie bid for this mulch job...?

biggreenlawncare
03-31-2008, 09:35 PM
I literally got my insurance and business in license within the last week and I've already got an opportunity for a pretty large job (for a one man operation like mine). A guy wants me to mulch his flower beds for him. No weeding, no edging. He's having the material delivered, I'm there solely for the labor. It is 20 yards of mulch (!) and I'll be using just a shovel and wheel barrow.

All I've done to this point is mowing, trimming, and aeration.

As long as I don't bid ridiculously I'm pretty much guaranteed this job just because of how I know the guy.

Advice?

All I can think of at this point is that with mowing/trimming I usually charge $30/hour. I know it's low but I'm a full time college student and started this just for the love of landscaping. A month later here I am!

All input is much appreciated!

Lawn-Sharks
03-31-2008, 09:40 PM
If your bidding low just to get the work i wouldn't go lower then $35hr.
..But to each is own

biggreenlawncare
03-31-2008, 09:45 PM
He said he anticipates it taking 12-16 hours. How he arrived at that I have no idea. My thinking is that a big company would charge him from $60-100 per yard which would be $1200-2000 all said and done. So if charge him $40 per yard, I should def. get the job and be able to make a nice chunk of change seeing my own costs are the $5 dollars in gas it'll cost me to get there.

I've found the worst part of being new in this business is always feeling the urge to underbid JUST so I get the job. Sometimes I find myself barely breaking even. The more I learn/read/think about it, all low bidding does is kills the whole industry.Anyhow, thanks for the advice and keep it coming!

Lawn-Sharks
03-31-2008, 09:49 PM
20yard would take me maybe 10hrs by myself going at a good relaxed pace.

biggreenlawncare
03-31-2008, 09:59 PM