PDA

View Full Version : Insurance

Bossman
04-03-2008, 10:51 PM
Hi all, I'm new to the forums and have a few questions about going 'legit.'

First though, a little about me. I'm a college student and am looking to get a few accounts to help pay some bills. I'm not looking to create a salary to live on, and I'd be happy with doing this part time and having just 5 residential accounts (around half-acre each in my area), and would be overjoyed to have more than that. I'm using an suv to haul around my beginner equipment which consists of a 22inch self propelled walk behind (I'm used to half-acres with this), trimmer, blower, etc.

I've read over a few threads concerned with going legit and get the basics. I'm fine with getting a dba, registering my business with the state, getting a tax number, and all that legal jazz. But I feel like I may not be able to afford the insurance, both liability and commercial vehicle insurance for the truck. Maybe 10% of the miles I'd get on the truck would be for the business, and I was wondering how necessary these types of insurance are. I just had my first request for a quote and am in the process of making the biz legal with the state, but the insurance thing worries me. Any advice?

pjslawncare/landscap
04-04-2008, 12:56 PM